Full information of Himalya mountain

Nature of the Himalayas

Full information of Himalya mountain

Himalaya is an ancient mountain range located in India. The Himalaya is called Parvataraja which means the king of the mountains. Kalidas considers the Himalayas as the norm of the earth. The mountain ranges of Himalayas are called Shivalik. For centuries, sages and caves have been inhabited in the Himalayan shrines (caves) and they meditate here meditating. Himalaya is the pole center of spiritual consciousness. It is the Vibrant Power House of Spiritual Energy. Uttarakhand is credited with saying the heart of this “Himalayanam Nagadhirajah Parvat”.

God is present there with all his majesty – beauty. ‘The Himalayas are the originator of many gems (Antarnratna Prabhasya Yasya), life medicines are produced in its mountain ranges (Bhavanti Yatraushadhyo Rajnayya oil Purat Surat Pradeep:), He is also heaven in the earth. The Himalayas are a mountain system that separates the Indian subcontinent from Central Asia and Tibet.

This mountain system is mainly made up of three parallel ranges – the Great Himalayas, the Middle Himalayas and the Shivalik which extends from west to east in the shape of an arc about 2400 km long. Which means towards the plains of northern India and the center is towards the plateau of Tibet.

Apart from these three main categories, the fourth and most northern category is called Para Himalaya or Trans Himalaya which includes Karakoram and Kailash ranges. The Himalayan mountains are spread across 7 countries. These countries are Pakistan, Afghanistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, China and Myanmar.

Most of the high mountain peaks of the world are located in the Himalayas. Himalayan peaks are among the 100 highest peaks in the world. The highest peak of the world, Mount Everest, is a peak in the Himalayas. There are more than 100 mountain peaks in the Himalayas that are over 7200 meters high. Some of the most prominent peaks of the Himalayas are Sagarmatha Himal, Annapurna, Shivshankar, Ganayya, Langtang, Manaslu, Ralvaling, Jugal, Gaurishankar, Kumbhu, Dhaulagiri and Kanchenjunga.

There are more than 15 thousand glaciers in the Himalayan range, which are spread over 12 thousand square kilometer. The 72 km long Siachen glacier is the second longest glacier in the world. Some of the major rivers of the Himalayas include the Indus, the Ganges, the Brahmaputra and the Yangtze. According to the principles of land formation it is made by colliding Asian plate with Indo-Australian plates. The first rise in the construction of the Himalayas took place 650 million years ago and the rise of the Middle Himalayas 450 million years ago.

The Himalayas also have some important religious sites. These include Haridwar, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gomukh, Dev Prayag, Rishikesh, Kailash, Mansarovar and Amarnath, Shakambhari. It is also mentioned in the Indian scripture Gita (Gita: 10.25).

Construction of Himalayas –

Where the Himalayas are today, there used to be a sea named Tethys. It was a long and shallow ocean. It was surrounded by two huge terraces. In its north there were two landmasses named Angaraland and Gondwanaland in the south. For millions of years, both of these landforms eroded and the eroded material (soil, concrete, gravel, silt etc.) started to accumulate in the Tethys Sea. These two huge plots also moved towards each other.

Due to the pressure falling in two opposing directions, layers of frozen soil etc. began to bend in the ocean. These rings rose above the surface of the water as a series of islands. This process continued continuously and in the course of time huge mountain ranges were constructed which we call today as Himalayas.


The Himalayas are made up of two Sanskrit words – Him and Alaya, the word meaning snow house. It is the largest snow-capped region on Earth after the polar regions. The Himalayas and the world’s highest peak Mount Everest are also known by many names. In Nepal it is called Sagarmatha (sky or heaven’s spear), Devagiri in Sanskrit and Chomolungma (queen of mountains) in Tibetan. The name of a peak of the Himalayan mountain is ‘Bandarpuncha’. This peak is located in Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand.Its height is 13,731 feet. It is also called Sumeru.

Origin of Himalayas

The origins of the Himalayas are explained by Kober’s geomagnetic theory and plate tectonics theory. The first Indian plate and the Indian plots on it were part of a vast continent called Gondwanaland and contiguous to Africa, after which the Indian plate peninsular plateau moved northward as a result of the movement of the Indian plate. [4] In the Upper Cretaceous period (840) Million years ago) The Indian plate started moving rapidly northwards and covered a distance of about 6000 km.

This collision between the Eurasian and Indian plates after the sea plate was submerged, this sea-sea collision now turned into a continental-continental collision and (650 million years ago) the Central Himalayas were formed. Since then, there have been about 2500 km of crustal commutation. Also, the north eastern part of the Indian plate has rotated counterclockwise around 45 degrees.

Due to this collision, the three ranges of the Himalayas were formed in different periods, which are from north to south. That is, first the great Himalayas, then the middle Himalayas and lastly Shivalik was composed.


The variety of trees and animals that grow in the Himalayas varies according to climate, rainfall, altitude and soil. While the climate below is tropical, the snow is permanently frozen near the peak. Being located near the Tropic of Cancer, the permanent ice level is usually around 5500 m (18,000 ft), the highest in the world. For comparison, the ice level in the Mediterranean mountains of New Guinea is some 900 meters (2950 ft) below. The amount of annual rainfall increases from west to east.

Nature of the Himalayas

The plains of northern India are the plains of the Ganges-Brahmaputra rivers brought from the Himalayas. The Himalayan ranges cause rain in our states by obstructing the path of monsoon air. When the sun rises in the morning, the rays of the Himalayas shine with the rays of the sun, the Himalayan Mountains are full of high cedar, pine trees, many types of wild creatures are also found here such as bears, elephants, cheetahs, rhinoceros, Monkeys, reindeer, animals etc. live their life safely here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *